20 ก.พ. 2022 เวลา 23:00 • การศึกษา
จะพูดอย่างไร ถ้าไม่อยากช่วย (ไม่ว่าจะด้วยเหตุผลอะไรก็ตาม) #WhatDoYouSay #ศัพท์สำนวน #พูดเก่ง
เพราะเราไม่อยากมีภาพจำว่าเป็นคน ‘เห็นแก่ตัว’ ‘ไม่ช่วยเหลือ’ การปฏิเสธ ‘Say No’ คำขอร้องให้ช่วยหรือคำเชิญต่างๆ จึงยากเหลือเกิน… คำนี้ดีเอพิโสดนี้จึงรวบรวมวิธีการพูดปฏิเสธเป็นภาษาอังกฤษ ‘แบบไม่น่าเกลียด’ ไม่ทำให้เราดูแย่ และอาจสร้างความประทับใจให้กับผู้ที่มาร้องขอเราอีกด้วย!
The Deferral (เลื่อน)
- I’m swamped right now, but feel free to follow up.
- I'm honoured, but I really can't right now. Let me get back to you later.
- I can’t take on anything else right now. But I will give you a call right after this.
- Unfortunately, now is not a good time. I’ll get back to you when things clear up.
- I’m having a lot on my plate now. But it sounds great though, so next time!
The Referral (อ้างถึงผู้อื่น)
- I’m not qualified to do what you’re asking, but here’s something else.
- Oh, that’s interesting, but I must admit I’m no expert on that. Here are some resources that you might find useful.
The Introduction (แนะนำคนหรือแหล่งข้อมูลอื่นๆ)
- This isn’t in my wheelhouse, but I know someone who might be helpful.
- Let me check on Maria. He knows about this stuff a lot more than I do.
The Bridge (เป็นสะพานให้ได้พบคนที่สนใจเหมือนกัน)
- You two are working toward common goals.
- Wow! Maria is also into this stuff. Do you want me to set you up for a meeting with her? / Do you want her contact?
สรุปศัพท์
Defer (v.) เลื่อน
Swamped (adj.) ยุ่งมากๆ
Take on (v.) รับมาทำ
Have a lot on my plate: มีหลายอย่างที่ต้องทำเยอะเกินไปแล้ว
Referral (n.) การอ้างอิง
Admit (v.) ยอมรับ
Wheelhouse (n.) สิ่งที่ถนัด
Burn the bridge (v.) ตัดความสัมพันธ์

ดูเพิ่มเติมในซีรีส์

โฆษณา